Jail Mail – Part 2

About Jail Mail: As the first opponent against Stuttgart 21 (speculative real estate and railway project) Mark Pollmann served a 10 days prison sentence. He was sentenced to a 10 days rate due to occupation of the northwing for protesting against the partial demolition of the Bonatzbau which is protected as an historical monument. Because he didn’t want to ransom with money or working hour he has to go to jail. „Jail Mail“ on Blog NAU! is his jail diary that he sent to us from prison. Mark Pollmann was in prison from May 25th until June 3rd . This is the first part of Marks ten journal enties.

26/5/2012 – Saturday

Postscript on Friday: I forgot to mention that I had a siesta Friday afternoon and fell asleap. When the cell door was opened for bringing in supper at about 5 p.m. I didn’t wake up immediately – I woke up with two officials beside my bed calling my name nervously – I was surprised about the urgency and the excitement, I sat up and put on my glasses.

Then they said, they enter the cell several times the day to check that all inmates are still alive respectively that they are okay. I said I was sleeping and therefore I didn’t response at once. They showed the red emergency button to me if someone feels bad. So at least every room in the new building features this as well as light switches for cell and restroom.

Saturday:

We were called up for breakfast at about 7 – i.e. I was already up some time since 5:30 a.m. and had already written the day before as prison journal. I’m okay, I’ve slept well, the moring sun gleams through the window – the view out of this window leads to a street/ cement forecourt with adjacent buildings. Not realy nice but if I’m looking aslant through the window from the bunk bed (I’m on the top) I also catch sight of foothills of the Swabian Alb from here.

My cell mate sleeps long, so I have all the time to write, read, etc. I didn’t informe the officials here that I’m doing a fasting cure since I experienced that they react even nervously if I don’t wake up from sleep immediately. I arranged with my room mate that he gets pieces of my food and I refuse the meals only occasionly from the officials with the words that I’m full and I had still food here.

About half past nine we were asked if we wanted to go to the yard. My room mate didn’t want to. I went to the inner court, where about 8 fellow prisoners were also outside; two were playing chess, some were talking, some roaming. Some appeared pretty fit to me, some others seemed mentally dickey to me. Most of the time I was chatting with the two chess players and I was playing the last quarter of an hour a chess match with one of them where he would have played me out if our time in the yard wouldn’t have been over after an hour – I don’t have any idea about playing chess except of knowing how to arrange the pieces – so it was pretty funny.

Back in the cell the lunch already came at 11 am (pasta, sauce, leaf salad + 1 orange) – I can’t tell how the food tastes, I’m doing my loose fasting cure the way that since friday I eat 1/2 up to 1 dry piece of bread in the morning+evening, nothing else. I ate the orange due to supply of vitamins, my room mate gave his to me so I have another one for sunday. Anyway, we are sharing everything and get along very well.

After lunch I went to the shower (possibly you can’t shower every day so it is necessary to seize the opportunity). I spent the noon/ afternoon alternately reading + adapting the manuscript, reading and learning the arabian alphabet. My roomate wrote down the arabian alphabet for me the day before – the characters are different in each case, either if the letter is at the beginning, in the middle or at the end of the word – highly interesting and not quite easy – it is not enough during fasting for memorizing, but we have started to translate words into the Arabic in phonetic spelling which I put each into the character from the alphabet list with his help. So my name Mark is spelled like this:

By the way, yesterday in the morning, the official said during dispension of the breakfast that I apeared in the newspaper with picture and after lunch another one came : „Mr.Pollmann, fanmail for you“ and handed over 38(!) postcards and letters to me. I was pretty touched and yesterday I read them all and was thrilled about the nice words – even post from northern Germany came.

How do all the people know my address? Anyway it seems my campaign touches many people – it is already so much post of people I do not even know!

Yesterday in the evening (thus saturday because now it’s sunday morning) we watched also the Grand Prix de la Chanson from Baku to the end (I overslept about an hour) – I was especially interested the way the ARD was reporting from Baku and this self-stageing of the regime. At least the reporting addresses the issue of the autocratic structures by the regime in Azerbaijan. From a musical point of view I was most convinced by the contribution from Estonia (the young tenor); I think the Russki Babuschki (the grannies from Russia) were very funny.

Everything is fine here,

Mark

Über Jens

Fotograf (Journalismus, Dokumentation, Tiere, Kunst) & Aktivist Zeige alle Beiträge von Jens

Kommentar verfassen

